Soulville - A Tribute to Horace Silver

  • Nina Reiter, voc.
  • Daniel Nösig, tp.
  • Herwig Gradischnig, ts.
  • Mátyás Bartha, p.
  • Johannes Strasser, b.
  • Peter Primus Frosch, dr.


Nina Reiter’s Soulville is entirely dedicated to the music of the American composer and pianist Horace Silver, who in the course of his over fifty years lasting career wrote numerous compositions that are now an integral part of the jazz repertoire. Consisting of a swinging rhythm section, a powerful brass section and the multi-faceted voice of Nina Reiter, the band presents energetic soul jazz and impresses with lively interplay and sophisticated arrangements. The program ranges from well-known Silver Hits like “Sister Sadie” or “Nica’s Dream” to rarely heard compositional gems and allows the listeners a swinging journey back into the Golden Age of Jazz.

To put it in Horace Silver’s own words:

“Jazz music stimulates the minds and uplifts the soul of those who play it as well as of those who listen to and immerse themselves in it.”

Photo: Norbert Kasehs